Performances and Lectures, Spring 2016

All events are open to the public, and free unless otherwise noted. Seating is limited. Tickets are available at the event venue thirty minutes prior to start time. Call 770-784-8389 for more information. 
Monday, January 25
Concert: Clark Bedford, piano
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Tuesday, January 26
Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration, Keynote speaker: Matthew Wesley Williams
7:30 pm, Old Church
Thursday, January 28
Lecture: Mark Bray, Anarchism, Terrorism and Human Rights in Spain: Past and Present
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Friday, January 29
Concert: Dakota Dave Hull, guitar
7:30 pm, Chapel
Wednesday, February 3
Southern Circuit Film Series #4: Art and Craft
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Thursday, February 4
Lecture: Natalie Cisneros, Massive Elimination: Race, Gender and Prisons Across Borders
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Monday, February 8
Concert:  Daniel Cole, singer accompanied by William Ransom, piano
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Tuesday, February 9
Lecture: Andrew Francis-Tan, Economics Without Money: Exploring Economic Principles in a Social World
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Monday,  February 15
Concert: Katherine Siochi, harp
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Thursday,  February 18
Lecture: Stefan Dolgert, For a Public Posthumanism
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Thursday, February 25 through Friday, February 26
Play: Arcadia by Tom Stoppard
Directed by Clark Lemons
7:30 pm, Tarbutton Theater - Tickets $5: at the door or contact Dr. Lemons for reserved seating
Saturday, February 27
Play: Arcadia by Tom Stoppard
Directed by Clark Lemons
3:00 pm, Tarbutton Theater - Tickets $5: at the door or contact Dr. Lemons for reserved seating
Tuesday, March 1
Lecture: Mark Gouker, Quantum Computing: A Grand Challenge for the 21st Century
7:30 pm, Tarbutton Theater
Thursday, March 17
Lecture: Dustin Shannon, Descent into the Spanish Labyrinth: Politics in Contemporary Spain
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Monday, March 21
Pierce Visiting Scholar Lecture: Lloyd Pratt, A Woman is Reading Emerson in the American South
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Wednesday, March 23
Southern Circuit Film Series #5: Embers
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Wednesday, March 24
Lecture: Jay Parrish, Hepatitis C: Finding a Cure
7:30 pm, Chapel
Monday, March 28
Lecture: Tiffany Stern, Shakespeare: The Book
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Wednesday, March 30
Lecture: Sarah Lamb, Ageless Aging or Meaningful Decline? Aspirations of Aging and Dying in the US and India
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Thursday, March 31
Lecture: Sheila Tschinkel, Is There a Difference Between Business and Economics?
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Monday, April 4
Concert: Leopoldo Erice, piano
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Wednesday, April 6
Concert: Akshara, accompanied by dancer Sonali Skandan
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Friday, April 8
9th Annual Women’s Studies Student Research Symposium, Keynote speaker: Jieun Lee
12:45 pm, 2 pm, 3 pm, 4 pm, 5 pm, Akin Room
Monday, April 11
Lecture: Steven Vogel, Thinking Like a Mall
7:30 pm, Chapel
Tuesday, April 12
Lecture: John Shea, The Handaxe’s Tale: An Archeologist’s Perspective on Prehistory’s Most Enigmatic Artifact
7:30 pm, Tarbutton Theater
Thursday, April 14 and Friday, April 15
Oxford Chorale Spring Performance
Directed by Maria Archetto
8:00 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium- Tickets $5: at the door or contact Dr. Archetto for reserved tickets
Tuesday, April 19
Oxford Instrumental Ensemble Concert
Directed by Maria Archetto
8:00 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium - Tickets $5: at the door or contact Dr. Archetto for reserved tickets
Wednesday, Arpil 20
Southern Circuit Film Series #6: Kings, Queens & In-Betweens
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Thursday, April 21
Lecture: David Lynn, Human 2.0: Our Changing Molecular Landscapes
7:30 pm, Chapel
Monday, April 25
Oxford Dance Performance
Directed by Kathleen Wessel
8:00 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium