Performances and Lectures, Spring 2017

All events are open to the public, and free unless otherwise noted. Seating is limited. Tickets are available at the event venue thirty minutes prior to start time. Call 770-784-8389 for more information. 
Wednesday, January 18
Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration: Keynote address by Avis Williams
7:30 pm, Old Church
Monday, January 23
Concert: Brad Howard, singer and Will Ransom, piano
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Monday, January 30
Concert: David Leinweber, guitar - Music From and About the British Isles
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Wednesday, February 1
Lecture: Michael Z. Newman, Atari Age: The Emergence of Video Games in America
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Wednesday, February 8
Southern Circuit Film Series: Mango Dreams
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Thursday, February 9
Concert: Maria Yates - April Days and Other Hopeful Catastrophes
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Monday, February 13
Lecture: Mike Vardas, OMG, Did I Forget to Study for the Test? A Reflection on my Career and Time at Oxford College of Emory University
7:30 pm, Chapel
Wednesday, February 15
Concert: Vassily Primakov, piano
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Thursday, February 16
Lecture: Crystal Biruk, Cooking Data: Politics and Culture in an African Research World
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Monday, February 20
Lecture: Camille Cottrell
7:30 pm, Chapel
Thursday, February 23
Lecture: Symbolism of the Sand Mandala
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Friday, February 24 through Saturday, February 25
Play: Big Love by Charles Mee
Directed by Clark Lemons
7:30 pm, Tarbutton Theater - Tickets $5: at the door or contact Dr. Lemons for reserved seating
Saturday, February 25
Play: Big Love by Charles Mee
Directed by Clark Lemons
3:00 pm, Tarbutton Theater - Tickets $5: at the door or contact Dr. Lemons for reserved seating
Monday, February 27
Concert: Gloriosa Trio
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Monday, March 13
Concert: Christopher Paul Stelling, acoustic guitar
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Tuesday, March 14
Lecture: Randy Vickery, Going Beyond the Requirements of Environmental Law
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Wednesday, March 15
Southern Circuit Film Series: I Come From
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Monday, March 20
Lecture: Jennifer Rogue, Feminist Inclusion and Exclusion: Why Intersectionality Matters and How We Put it to Use
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Monday, March 27
Lecture: Clark LemonsMy Last Lecture
7:30 pm, Tarbutton Theater
Thursday, March 30
Pierce Visiting Scholar Lecture: Mohammad TalibMaking Sense of Islam in the Contemporary World: Themese and Critical Reflections
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Sunday, April 2
Concert: Paulo Gualdi, piano
4:00 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Tuesday, April 4
Lecture: Maggie LabinskiMedieval Philosophy
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Friday, April 7
10th Annual Women's Studies Student Research Symposium: Keynote Speaker - Joselyn K. LeimbachYou're My Person: Privileging Female Friendships in Grey's Anatomy
12:45 pm, 1 pm, 2 pm, 3 pm, 4 pm, 5 pm; Akin Room
Monday, April 10
Oxford Instrumental Ensemble Concert
Directed by Maria Archetto
8:00 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Wednesday, April 12
Southern Circuit Film Series: Speed Sisters
7:30 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium
Thursday, April 20 and Friday, April 21
Oxford Chorale Spring Concert
Directed by Maria Archetto
8:00 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium - Tickets $5: at the door or contact Dr. Archetto for reserved tickets
Monday, April 24
Oxford Dance Performance
Directed by Alejandro Abarca
8:00 pm, Williams Hall Auditorium